Prog Collective (Featuring Members of Yes, Gentle Giant, Dream Theater) to Drop New LP

Prog Collective

Prog Collective is a prog-rock supergroup — almost to the point of absurdity. The “band,” directed by former Yes member Billy Sherwood, released their debut album last year, and now they’re back with another new album, Epilogue, which is out September 10th.

The line-up is so impressive, there’s no way the music can possibly match up to that standard. Nonetheless, it’s pretty damn exciting. Some of the featured players are Rick Wakeman, Chris Squire, Peter Banks, Steve Morse, Larry Fast, Alan Parsons, Jordan Rudess, Steve Hillage, Geoff Downes, Gary Green, Tony Kaye, Mel Collins, John Wetton, and Patrick Moraz.

Oh, and, umm…William Shatner? The press release doesn’t shed much light on the Captain Kirk actor’s appearance, but my excitement level just quadrupled. (Who knew Shatty Boy was into prog? Is this gonna be a spoken-word thing, or does Shatner secretly slap a mean bass?)

Sherwood had this to say of the project: “It’s an honor to have so many great artists involved with this record, each bringing their creativity and musicianship to the table and lifting the project to a higher place. As a long time fan of progressive rock music, making a record like this is indeed a dream come true! I’m always looking to expand the musical horizon, with so many gifted artists doing what they do best, I do believe we’ve pushed the envelope of creativity.”

In the meantime, check out a radio edit of “Shining Diamonds,” which features Parsons on vocals and Squire on bass.

To buy Epilogue, follow the link to the album’s Amazon page.


Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide