Green Day, Bill Withers, Steve Ray Vaughan, Lou Reed, Joan Jet Elected to Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced its 2015 class.

Green Day; Bill Withers; Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble; Lou Reed; Joan Jett and the Blackhearts; and the Paul Butterfield Blues Band will all be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame next spring.

Those six performers were selected from a list of 15 nominees, which also included acts like N.W.A., Nine Inch Nails, Sting, The Smiths and Chic.

The Beatles’ Ringo Starr will also be honored at the 2015 induction ceremony with the award for musical excellence, while R&B quintet The “5” Royales will be recognized for their early influence.

“As we mark 30 years of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductions, we’re proud to honor these artists,” Rock and Roll Hall of Fame foundation president Joel Peresman said in a statement. “These Inductees epitomize rock and roll’s impact over the past 50 years and continuing through today.”

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide