The Felice Brothers Return With New Album

Team Love Records is proud to announce the release of The Felice Brothers‘ latest full-length, Yonder Is The Clock. Due out April 7th, the album is the follow-up to their critically acclaimed self-titled record released in 2008, which was their first for Team Love. Yonder Is The Clock is the band’s fourth record, including their 2006 self-released debut Through These Reins and Gone and their 2007 release Tonight At The Arizona. With Yonder Is The Clock, the Catskill Mountain natives look to build upon the praise heaped upon them in the past. No Depression wrote that the “ethereal, guns-and-sex-and-Dust-Bowl-metaphor- infused cannot be understated, while Uncut said, “The Felice Brothers is just glorious.” “You won’t find more American music than that of The Felice Brothers,” wrote the New York Daily News. “With their wheezing accordions, broken-down pianos, flinty acoustic guitars and creaky vocals, the brothers capture the history – and mystery – of rural America.”

Titled with a phrase drawn from the pages of Mark Twain, Yonder Is The Clock is a nod to all of the American ghosts that lend their narrative and characters to the forthcoming release. The Felice Brothers studio was built from the remains of an abandoned chicken coop and it was there over the summer and fall of 2008 that they wrote and recorded this new collection of songs. The record is teaming with tales of love, death, betrayal, baseball, train stations, phantoms, pandemics, jail cells, rolling rivers and frozen winter nights.

As always, the band is incredibly excited to bring the new songs on the road in 2009 as they continue to take their compelling live act to people across the world. A defining memory to date might be their appearance at the 2008 Newport Folk Festival. A summer afternoon thunderstorm rolled in and began to douse the land. While it electrified the atmosphere, the rain had the adverse effect of cutting power to The Felice Brother’s stage. After many assurances that power would be restored, The Felice Brothers were informed it was a lost cause, and that they’d have to make due. Without hesitation the band jumped down off the stage and began playing acoustic while stomping around barefoot in the mud that had formed on account of the ongoing downpour. What might have led some to call it a wash and leave was turned into another epic show that drew upon the familiarity and casual ease of the backyard bbq sessions that took place at their dad’s porch on Sunday afternoons during their first days as a group. The audience that day, like others before and after, left utterly converted.

Simone, Ian and James Felice are the three eldest boys from a family of seven, born carpenter’s sons in the wilds of New York’s Catskill Mountains. Their long time friends Christmas Clapton and Greg Farley round out the group.

In February The Felice Brothers hit the road for a nine-date run with Old Crow Medicine Show, and continue on with headlining dates throughout the spring.  Highlights include a record release party at the Bardavan Opera House in Poughkeepsie, NY on April 7th, and a swing through Austin, TX for SXSW 2009. [via Felice Press Release]

Tour Dates and Confirmed Tracklisting for Yonder Is The Clock is below:

1. The Big Surprise
2. Penn Station
3. Buried In Ice
4. Chicken Wire
5. Ambulance Man
6. Sailor Song
7. Katie Dear
8. Run Chicken Run
9. All When We Were Young
10. Boy from Lawrence County
11. Memphis Flu
12. Cooperstown
13. Rise and Shine

2009 Tour Dates
* = w/ Old Crow Medicine Show


05 – Johnson City, TN – Freedom Hall*
06 – Winston-Salem, NC – The Millenium Center*
07 – Chattanooga, TN – Tivoli Theatre*
08 – North Charleston, SC – North Charleston Performing Arts Center*
10 – Gainesville, FL – The Venue*
11 – Tampa, FL – Tampa Theatre*
13 – New Orleans, LA – House of Blues*
14  – Oxford, MS – The Lyric Theatre*
15 – Memphis, TN – Minglewood*

MARCH 2009

13 – Rochester, NY – Water Street Music Hall
14 – Buffalo, NY – The Mohawk
15 – Nelsonville, OH – Stuart’s Opera House
16 – Indianapolis, IN – Radio Radio

APRIL 2009
07 – Poughkeepsie, NY – The Bardavan Opera House
09 – Boston, MA – The Paradise
10 – Albany, NY – Valentines
11 – Burlington, VT – Higher Ground
15 – Alexandria, VA – Birchmere Bandstand
16 – Philadelphia, PA – The Trocadero Theatre
17 – New York, NY – Webster Hall
18 – Northampton, MA – Pearl Street Nightclub
19 – Ringwood, NJ – New Legacy Concert Series at Ringwood Public Library
22 – Pittsburgh, PA – Mr. Smalls
24 – Louisville, KY – Headliner’s
25 – Nashville, TN – The Mercy Lounge

JULY 2009

17 – Somerset, KY – Master Musicians Festival
25 – Floyd, VA – Floydfest

[Source: Press Release]

Previously On HT:

Related Content

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide