STREAM: Trey Anastasio’s New Full Length ‘Paper Wheels’

Trey Anastasio’s new full length Paper Wheels is set for release October 30th. Produced by Anastasio and longtime collaborator Bryce Goggin, Paper Wheels was recorded last year at The Barn, the Phish founding guitarist’s Vermont farmhouse-turned-rehearsal space/recording studio. Anastasio and the members of Trey Anastasio Band (TAB) developed the material on stage while touring and at soundcheck on the tour leading up to the sessions, allowing them to track the album in just under a week. Taking a cue from the energetic immediacy of classic Stax Studio recording sessions, TAB worked fast and loose, playing together live in The Barn and wrapping up tracks after one or two takes. Written and co-written by Anastasio alongside frequent lyric partners Tom Marshall and Steve “The Dude of Life” Pollak, songs like the funk-driven “Bounce” and the elegiac “Invisible Knife” (written solely by Anastasio) are among the legendarily diverse artist’s most infectious and inventive, alive with creative vigor, robust musicianship, and true soul power.

Paper Wheels features the classic TAB line up of drummer Russ Lawton, bassist Tony Markellis, and keyboardist Ray Paczkowski, augmented by a full horn section (including trombonist/vocalist Natalie Cressman, multi-instrumentalist James Casey, and longtime TAB trumpeter/vocalist Jennifer Hartswick).

Courtesy of NPR check out Trey Anastasio’s ‘Paper Wheels’ now streaming in full below.

Track Listing

1.    Sometime After Sunset

2.     The Song

3.     Never

4.     In Rounds

5.     Flying Machines

6.     Invisible Knife

7.     Lever Boy

8.     Bounce

9.     Liquid Time

10.  Paper Wheels

11.  Speak to Me

12.  Cartwheels



Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide