SONG PREMIERE: LP3 & The Tragedy Share Hypnotic Grooving Americana of “1979”

Southern California band LP3 & The Tragedy will digitally release their debut album Southland Hum on September 16th. LP3 & The Tragedy features two gypsy cousins, Louie Perez III (son of Los Lobos’ Louie Perez) and Ruby Rosas (daughter of Lobos’ Cesar Rosas) with friends, Mike Berault, Eric Fuller, and Carlos Guzman, who together form a group of breakfast club rejects bringing Americana in its darkest and youthful form.

Southland Hum was recorded live at Golden Beat in Glassell Park and features appearances by Louie Pérez (Los Lobos), David J. Carpenter (Dead Rock West and the John Doe Band) and Richard Stekol of 60s Garage Rock fame.

Their debut album developed out of the enthusiastic support that came from a series of live shows. Louie Perez III formed the band after iconic tattoo artist Mark Mahoney requested he play a special gala event at the California Heritage Museum.  LP3 & The Tragedy played their first show there in front of a star-studded audience that featured Mickey Rourke, Steve Jones (Sex Pistols), Danny Trejo, and members of Guns N’ Roses–not a bad place for a new band to start. Just a few months later, The Tragedy was asked to join legendary Texas singer-songwriter Alejandro Escovedo as his backing bandfor a sold out show at The Mint LA. Escovedo also invited the band to play his final ‘End of an Era’ showcases at Maria’sand the famed Continental Club in Austin during SXSW. This past May, the band earned an opening slot on the Tres Bandas Companeros Tour featuring the iconic LA punk band, X, along with Los Lobos and The Blasters.

“We are really looking forward to finally, and officially sharing this record with the rest of the world. So much has happened  for this band since May. We are proud of the hard work we put into this debut, and we hope everyone can dig it!!”

Today Glide Magazine is excited to offer an exclusive premiere of the song “1979”. The song is a hypnotic, entrancing hymn to life on the road, and it rocks. 

Speaking about the song, the band says, “‘1979’ is a very unique song with a mysterious meaning. We’ve  had tons of fun hearing everyone’s theory on its inspiration.”

For more info on LP3 & the Tragedy check out


1. Southland Hum

2. When I Told You

3. 1979

4. Truth Untold

5. Farm

6. City of Dreams

7. Heart Locked in a Cell

8. Cold Hearted World

9. Uneasy Streett

10. Dusty Trail

11. Third Street Prayer

12. Train

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide