New Fleetwood Mac Tribute Album To Feature St. Vincent, Best Coast, MGMT, The New Pornographers + More

On August 14, 2012, Hear Music/Concord will release Just Tell Me That You Want Me: A Tribute to Fleetwood Mac, a striking 17-track collection of Fleetwood Mac covers from a diverse band of creative forces that draw upon every era of the influential group’s 45-year history. It includes daring contributions from Lee Ranaldo featuring J Mascis, Antony, Trixie Whitley, Billy Gibbons & Co., Best Coast, New Pornographers, Marianne Faithfull, Lykke Li, Karen Elson, Matt Sweeney and Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy, Washed Out, Tame Impala, Craig Wedren with St. Vincent, The Kills, Gardens & Villa, The Crystal Ark, and MGMT. Complete tracklist below. Details on bonus tracks by the Entrance Band ("Green Manalishi") and Haim ("Hold Me") will be announced soon.

"Few groups have experienced such radical stylistic changes as Fleetwood Mac," notes All Music Guide and every one of them is represented on Just Tell Me That You Want Me. The early blues exhortations of Peter Green’s "Oh Well" are scrubbed raw by Billy Gibbons & Co., The New Pornographers hint at the dark underbelly of Christine McVie’s uplifting "Th’nk About Me", Best Coast’s surf-rock spiked "Rhiannon" sparkles, while MGMT explores the group?s transitional early 70’s period with an epic, nine minute take of "Future Games," a song written by Bob Welch who died tragically earlier this month. Fleetwood Mac?s Buckingham/Nicks period is also explored in abundance, with artists ranging from Marianne Faithfull and Lykke Li to Washed Out and Tame Impala rendering iconic songs from ‘Rumours,’ ‘Tusk,’ and ‘Mirage’ anew.

Just Tell Me That You Want Me was produced by esteemed film and television music supervisor Randall Poster and Gelya Robb, the creative team behind 2011’s highly acclaimed ‘Rave On Buddy Holly’ (Fantasy/Concord); which debuted in the Billboard Top 20 and earned a Grammy nomination.

Known for his work with directors Martin Scorsese, Wes Anderson and Todd Haynes among many others, Poster was inspired to craft this loving tribute by his lifelong affection for Fleetwood Mac and encouraged each artist to make each song their own.

"The story of Fleetwood Mac has always intrigued me." Poster reveals, "And we’ve tried to tell that story through the arc of music we’ve recorded. Working with some of our favorite artists and performers, the magical musical legacy of Fleetwood Mac shows itself to be alive and well."

Listen to "Think About Me" from The New Pornographers:

Just Tell Me That You Want Me – A Tribute to Fleetwood Mac’ Tracklist
1). "Albatross" – Lee Ranaldo Band Featuring J Mascis (4:16)
2). "Landslide" – Antony (3:33)
3). "Before The Beginning" – Trixie Whitley (4:46)
4). "Oh Well" – Billy Gibbons & Co. (4:45)
5). "Rhiannon" – Best Coast (3:07)
6). "Think About Me" – The New Pornographers (2:56)
7). "Angel" – Marianne Faithfull (4:59)
8). "Silver Springs" – Lykke Li (4:11)
9). "Gold Dust Woman" – Karen Elson (5:43)
10). "Storms" – Matt Sweeney And Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy (4:46)
11). "Straight Back" – Washed Out (3:44)
12). "That’s All For Everyone" – Tame Impala (3:43)
13). "Sisters Of The Moon" – Craig Wedren with St. Vincent (3:45)
14. "Dreams" – The Kills (4:46)
15). "Gypsy" – Gardens & Villa (4:40)
16). "Tusk" – The Crystal Ark (5:30)
17). "Future Games" – MGMT (9:02)

Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide