SONG PREMIERE: Quicksilver Daydream Takes A Glorious Turn at Psych Rock With “Warmth of Other Suns”

Quicksilver Daydream is Adam Lytle, Alex Bayer, Alf Lenni Erlandsen, Brett Banks, and Glenn Forsythe. Employing both the mechanical and mythical, the band paints sweeping, symbolic landscapes, conjuring worlds that vibrate between the hallucinatory and nostalgic.

Fly Oblivion, Quicksilver Daydream’s sophomore record was co-produced by the band and Jonathan Schenke (Parquet Courts, The Drums), recorded at Seaside Lounge, and mixed at Schenke’s Studio Windows. The album was mastered by Josh Bonati.

Glide is pleased to premiere “Warmth of Other Suns” (below) a spookily restrained voyage into psych rock that conjures King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard and the late Roky Erickson. 

“One of the last songs written before heading into the studio, ‘Warmth of Other Suns’ bloomed out of a jam during some downtime at our rehearsal space,” says the band. “With a couple weeks to go, we wanted to create a strong counterpoint to some of the softer moments on the album. The menacing pulse Alex laid down on the Mellotron, put us on the right track. After recording the song live at Seaside Lounge, our producer Jonathan Schenke took the reigns, manipulating the sounds further via his modular synthesizer This combination of live performance energy and studio wizardry is a hallmark of our forthcoming album.”


Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide