Jimbo Mathus and Andrew Bird Team Up For New LP ‘These 13’, Share Video for “Sweet Oblivion”

Today, for the first time in decades, Jimbo Mathus and Andrew Bird have come together to announce a brand new album. Out March 5th on Thirty Tigers, These 13 is about the special type of human connection that can survive any distance of time or geography. As former collaborators in Squirrel Nut Zippers, Mathus and Bird’s friendship dates back 25 years, but at the turn of the century their career paths diverged. Both became highly accomplished, acclaimed and prolific solo artists, and though they remained close friends, they did not return to musical collaboration until 2018, when they started exchanging the fragments that grew into this set of 13 songs.

Jimbo Mathus and Andrew Bird co-wrote all of These 13, sharing voice memos, finishing each other’s musical thoughts. Across the album they reveal themselves to one another again, and the conversation that unfolds is personal and profound. Produced by Mike Viola, the first half of the album was recorded in early 2019, and the second half was finished in early 2020. Every song was recorded live to analog tape, with Mathus and Bird singing and playing on opposite sides of a lone RCA 44 microphone.

Pre-order These 13 and listen to the first single, “Sweet Oblivion,” out today: https://orcd.co/these13

These 13 Track List

Poor Lost Souls
Sweet Oblivion
Encircle My Love
Beat Still My Heart
Red Velvet Rope
High John
Stonewall (1863)
Bright Sunny South
Bell Witch
Dig Up the Hatchet
Jack O’ Diamonds
Burn the Honky Tonk
Three White Horses and a Golden Chain

Photo credit: Reuben Cox

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide