Steve Gunn Announces New Album ‘Other You’ Out August 27th

Shortly after announcing a tour with Jeff Parker, Steve Gunn is back with his sixth studio LP Other You that will be released on August 27th on Matador. Recorded during two visits to Los Angeles in late 2020 and early 2021, the album was made with veteran producer Rob Schnapf (Beck, Elliott Smith, Cass McCombs, Kurt Vile) at his Mant Studios alongside musician and longtime friend and collaborator Justin Tripp, whose credits include appearances on Gunn’s Time Off and Way Out Weather. Watch the videos for two-song single ‘Other You’ / ‘Reflection’ HERE.

The relocation was in a way more than geographical – the surroundings, warm climate and tight-knit studio team encouraged Gunn to tap into new approaches, techniques and emotional reservoirs, casting off established notions, habits, and hangups. It is easily Gunn’s brightest and most life-affirming work to date.

He is assisted by contributions come from friends and fellow artists including Juliana Barwick, Mary Lattimore, Bridget St. John, Jeff Parker, Bill MacKay, Ben Bertrand, drummer Ryan Sawyer (TV On The Radio, Thurston Moore, Gang Gang Dance), and others.

Other You – Tracklisting:

  1. Other You
  2. Fulton
  3. Morning River
  4. Good Wind
  5. Circuit Rider
  6. On The Way
  7. Protection
  8. The Painter
  9. Reflection
  10. Sugar Kiss
  11. Ever Feel That Way

TOUR DATES

Thu July 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ The Bell House^

Fri July 23 – Livingston Manor, NY @ Catskill Brewery^

Sat July 24 – Burlington, VT @ Backside 405^

Sun July 25 – Peaks Island, ME @ Lion’s Club^

Mon July 26 – Keene, NH @ Nova Arts^

Tue July 27 – Newport, RI @ Folk On^

Thu July 29 – New Haven, CT @ Cafe Nine^

Thu December 2 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall #

Fri December 3 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center #

Sat December 4 – Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club #

Sun December 5 – Lakeside, MI @ Lakeside Inn #

Tue December 7 – Nashville, TN @ Third Man #

Wed December 8 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West #

Thu December 9 – Charlotte, NC @ Recover Brands #

Fri December 10 – Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle Tavern #

Sat December 11 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle #

Sun December 12 – Baltimore, MD @ Creative Alliance #

Tue December 14 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair #

Wed December 15 – Holyoke, MA @ Gateway City Arts #

Thu December 16 – Kingston, NY @ Tubby’s #

Fri December 17 – Ardmore, PA @ Ardmore Music Hall #

Sat December 18 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom #

^ w/ William Tyler

# w/ Jeff Parker

Photo by  Stephanie Nicole Smith

 

 

 

 

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide

Twitter