Aimee Mann Returns With New LP ‘Queens of The Summer Hotel’

Queens of The Summer Hotel, the new album from Aimee Mann, is set for release on November 5 via her own SuperEgo Records. Mann started developing the new music in 2018 when she agreed to write songs for a stage adaptation of Girl, InterruptedSusannah Kaysen’s memoir about her psychiatric hospitalization in the late 1960s. It was material that Mann understood well, having had her own struggles with mental illness. The resulting music comes together in Queens of The Summer Hotel.

The album consists of a song cycle constructed from music that Mann wrote for the show, sung by Mann and orchestrated with her longtime collaborator Paul Bryan, using strings and woodwinds in a nod to the project’s theatrical origins.

In celebration of the forthcoming record, Mann has shared he lead single, “Suicide Is Murder,” alongside an accompanying music video starring James Urbaniak, and directed and produced by Puloma Basu and Rob Hatch-Miller. Check it out below…

“I started to write this song because I’ve known people who committed suicide and friends who’ve had loved ones die from suicide,” Mann notes. “I think the phrase ‘suicide is murder’ took on a meaning for me as it’s the worst thing to have to deal with in the aftermath. It’s just terrible. Because every person who knows the person who committed suicide will blame themselves in some way for not noticing or stepping in or doing something. They’ll till the end of their days, say, ‘was there something I could have done?’”

n addition, Mann has confirmed a run of select West Coast tour dates with Rufus Wainwright this fall. Kicking off on September 9, the shows include performances at Los Angeles’ Greek Theatre, San Diego’s Humphrey’s and Saratoga’s Mountain Winery. See below for complete tour details.


  1. You Fall
  2. Robert Lowell and Sylvia Plath
  3. Give Me Fifteen
  4. At The Frick Museum
  5. Home By Now
  6. Checks
  7. Little Chameleon
  8. You Don’t Have The Room
  9. Suicide Is Murder
  10. You Could Have Been A Roosevelt
  11. Burn It Out
  12. In Mexico
    13. Check (reprise)
    14. You’re Lost
  13. I See You


September 9––San Diego, CA––Humphrey’s*
September 10––Los Angeles, CA–– The Greek Theatre*
September 11––Saratoga, CA––Mountain Winery*

*w/ Rufus Wainwright

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide