LISTEN: On “Prelude,” Free Union Creates Blurring Fusion of Soul & Jazz

Free Union is a Charlottesville, Virginia-based collective led by Michael Coleman (vocals/rhythm guitar) and Rob Dunnenberger (drums), and features Carrie Coleman (vocals), Parker Hawkins (bass), and Tyler Hutcherson (keys). The band’s sound is not distillable, its ever-evolving music is rooted in soul and incorporates rhythm and blues, rock, and pop into its sound.

Drenched in soul and tone, “Prelude” (below) is the latest release from Free Union. A duet between Michael & Carrie Coleman, the vocals are tender yet powerful and backed by an absolute wall of tasteful sounds. A soothing groove boils over into an ascendant guitar solo that leaves it all on the field, that is a bolstering fusion of jazz & soul.

“Prelude represents the gray area between dreams and reality – dreaming of something so much that you believe it’s real.”

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide