Alex Cameron Announces New Album ‘Oxy Music’ – Shares Opening Track “Best Life”

 
Today, Alex Cameron announces Oxy Music, his new album out March 11th on Secretly Canadian, and shares its opening track “Best Life.” Additionally, Cameron announces a spring North American tour, on sale this Friday, January 21st at 10am local time.
 
Cameron has always been a great storyteller, finding his ways into the depths of the places where not many others are looking, and Oxy Music continues on that trajectory. It’s filled with stories of people who fall outside the system and exist in the grey areas of life. In its design – its music, lyrics and tracklist – lies the journey a person can take, if the circumstances present themselves – down the road of heavy drug and alcohol abuse. Initially inspired by Nico Walker’s Cherry, Cameron was spurred into yet another commentary on American Life, this time about the opioid crisis that has taken over the country. He says about Oxy Music: “The album is a story, a work of fiction, mostly from the perspective of a man. Starved of meaningful purpose, confused about the state of the world, and in dire need of a reason to live – a person can, and according to the latest statistics, increasingly will, turn to opioids. This is one of those people.”

 

 
While Oxy Music could be dark, it’s instead brighter and more buoyant than much of Cameron’s previous work, a shift in mood first seen across 2019’s Miami Memory. It’s told from a place of optimism and through the lens of Cameron, in the way that only he can tell it.
 
Oxy Music Tracklist
1. Best Life
2. Sara Jo
3. Prescription Refill
4. Hold The Line
5. Breakdown
6. K Hole
7. Dead Eyes
8. Cancel Culture (feat. Lloyd Vines)
9. Oxy Music (feat. Jason Williamson)
 
Alex Cameron Tour Dates (New Dates in Bold)

Sat. Mar. 19 – Utrecht, NL @ Tivoli (Pandora)
Mon. Mar. 21 – Paris, FR @ La Cigale
Tue. Mar. 22 – Reims, FR @ La Cartonnerie
Wed. Mar. 23 – Lyon, FR @ L’Epicerie Moderne
Thu. Mar. 24 – Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Sat. Mar. 26 – Bologna, IT @ Covo Club
Mon. Mar. 28 – Leipzig, DE @ UT Connewitz
Tue. Mar. 29 – Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
Thu. Mar. 31 – Warsaw, PL @ Hydrozagadka
Sat. Apr. 2 – Copenhagen, DK @ Studio 2
Sun. Apr. 3 – Goteborg, SE @ Pustervik
Mon. Apr. 4 – Stockholm, SE @ Berns
Tue. Apr. 5 – Oslo, NE @ Cosmopolite
Thu. Apr. 7 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow
Fri. Apr. 8 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique (Orangerie)
Sun. Apr. 10 – Nottingham, UK @ Rescue Rooms
Mon. Apr. 11 – Glasgow, UK @ St. Luke’s
Wed. Apr. 13 – Newcastle, UK @ NUSU
Thu. Apr. 14 – Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Sat. Apr. 16 – Dublin, IE @ Grand Social – SOLD OUT
Sun. Apr. 17 – Dublin, IE @ Grand Social
Tue. Apr. 19 – Bristol, UK @ Trinity
Wed. Apr. 20 – Brighton, UK @ Concorde 2
Fri. Apr. 22 – London, UK @ EartH
Thu. Apr. 28 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Belasco
Sat. Apr. 30 – Columbus, OH @ SoupFest 2022
Sat. May 7 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Sun. May 8 – Indianapolis, IN @ The Vogue
Mon. May 9 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
Thu. May 12 – Toronto, ON @ The Axis Club
Fri. May 13 – Montreal, QBC @ Ausgang Plaza
Sat. May. 14 – Burlington, VT @ Waking Windows
Sun. May 15 – New Haven, CT @ Space Ballroom
Tue. May 17 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair
Wed. May 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Thu. May 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Fri. May 20 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Sat. May 21 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Sun. Jun. 5 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera a la Ciutat (Razzmatazz 2)
Thu. Jun. 9 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
 

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide

Twitter