Dry Cleaning Return With Sophomore Album ‘Stumpwork’ Out 10/23

London-based band Dry Cleaning announce their sophomore album, Stumpwork, out October 21st, and share the lead single/video, “Don’t Press Me.” Stumpwork is the follow-up to New Long Leg, their debut full-length and one of 2021’s best albums (a top 10 album of the year, according to The New York Times, Pitchfork, SPIN, The Atlantic, The Ringer, and more). The new album was inspired by a plethora of events, concepts, and political debacles, be they represented in the icy mess of ambient elements reflecting certain existential despair, or the surprising warmth in celebrating the lives of loved ones lost through the previous year. Surrealist lyrics are as ever at the forefront – but there is sensitivity now to the themes of family, money, politics, self-deprecation, and sensuality. Furious indie-pop anthems combine across the record with psych and prog influences, demonstrating the wealth of influences the band feeds off and their deep musicality.

​​Clocking in at under 2 minutes, today’s “Don’t Press Me” is about the pleasure of gaming and the enjoyment of intense and short-lived guilt-free experiences. Vocalist Florence Shaw also says, “The words in the chorus came about because I was trying to write a song to sing to my own brain, ‘You are always fighting me / You are always stressing me out.’” Its animated video was created by Peter Millard, whose naïve depictions of the band is perfectly in sync with the song’s hooks and riffs.

STUMPWORK TRACKLIST
1. Anna Calls From The Arctic
2. Kwenchy Kups
3. Gary Ashby
4. Driver’s Story
5. Hot Penny Day
6. Stumpwork
7. No Decent Shoes For Rain
8. Don’t Press Me
9. Conservative Hell
10. Liberty Log
11. Icebergs

DRY CLEANING TOUR DATES
Thu. June 16 – Edinburgh, UK @ Hidden Door Festival
Fri. June 17 – York, UK @ Castle Howard w/ Duran Duran
Sat. June 18 – Helsinki, FI @ Sideways Festival
Tue. June 21 – Zagreb, HR @ INmusic Festival
Fri. June 24 – Pilton, UK @ Glastonbury Festival
Sat. July 2 – Ewijk, NL @ Down The Rabbit Hole
Sun. July 3 – Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter
Sat. July 9 – Milwaukee, WI @ Summerfest
Sun. July 10 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
Mon. July 11 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East
Tue. July 12 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups
Thu. July 14 – Cleveland Heights, OH @ Grog Shop
Fri. July 15 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
Sat. July 16 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival
Sat. July 23 – Nottingham, UK @ Rough Trade (in-store)
Sun. July 24 – Hertfordshire, UK @ Standon Calling
Fri. July 29 – Co Waterford, IE @ All Together Now
Sun. July 31 – Thirsk, UK @ Deer Shed Festival
Sat. Aug. 6 – Katowic, PL @ OFF Festival
Thu. Aug. 11 – Haldern, DE @ Haldern Pop Festival
Fri. Aug. 19 – Crickhowell, UK @ Green Man Festival
Thu. Aug. 25 – London, UK @ All Points East
Sat. Aug. 27 – Manchester, UK @ Dept Mayfield w/ The National
Sun. Sept. 18 – Los Angeles, US @ Primavera Sound LA
Fri. Nov. 11 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who? Festival

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide

Twitter