Mogwai Debut “Remurdered” – Releasing New LP Rave Tapes 1/21/14

Mogwai will release Rave Tapes, their 8th studio album in 19 years, on CD/LP/DL January 20th in Europe via Rock Action and January 21st in North America via Sub Pop. The record will also be available via Spunk in Australia and Hostess in Japan and SE Asia. The album features 10 tracks and was produced by the band with returning associate Paul Savage (Mogwai’s Young Team; Delgados, Arab Strap). “Remurdered” is the leadoff track from Rave Tapes.

About Mogwai’s Rave Tapes:

Rave Tapes is the eighth studio album by Mogwai and their second on Rock Action, the label they set up almost 18 years ago to issue their debut 7in single, Tuner/Lower. In between, the Scottish quintet have established themselves on the international stage through a prolific recorded output and a commitment to touring that few of their peers can match.

Clocking in at just under 50 minutes, the 10-track album is a lustrous collection mined from the same quarry as its predecessors, wreathed in painterly textures underpinned by increasingly electronic beats. The haunted strains of Deesh channel the slow-burning ecstasy of their 2006 song Auto Rock (a key presence in the denouement of Michael Mann’s film of Miami Vice that year) while the guitars on which Mogwai built their reputation remain, if for the most part less overtly belligerent this time round, as evidenced by the somnambulant opener Heard About You Last Night and the sonic scowl of Hexon Bogon. With Rave Tapes, Mogwai’s mastery of sound and space is firmly at its apex. (click here for full bio)

Track listing for Rave Tapes:
1. Heard About You Last Night
2. Simon Ferocious
3. Remurdered
4. Hexon Bogon
5. Repelish
6. Master Card
7. Deesh
8. Blues Hour
9. No Medecine For Regret
10. The Lord Is Out Of Control


Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide