Jimi Goodwin of Doves Debuts ‘Oh Whiskey!’ from Debut Solo Album Odludek

Odludek is the debut solo album by Jimi Goodwin. It is set for release on Heavenly on March 25th 2014.

Having spent the last decade and a bit fronting now much-missed Manchester band Doves, Jimi Goodwin was a little touch nervous about making music under his own name. He needn’t have worried. Bouncing joyfully from genre to genre, Odludek has all the thrill and excitement of an artist’s debut record whilst also displaying the wealth of experience of someone who’s spent the last two decades making inspirational music. Impossible to pigeonhole, properly addictive and hook heavy, Odludek is the first great record of 2014.

Jimi Goodwin on Odludek: “I wanted to make this mad mixtape’ the kind you’d pass back and forth with your mates; eclectic as fuck. That’s the way we’ve all discovered music over the years isn’t it? We join our own dots to make it all make sense. As I got into making the record, it felt like I was proving something to myself, making a point that I could do all this on my own. You know – I can play bass, I can play guitar, I can orchestrate. As the methods changed, the original concept stayed intact. It’s me, powering through ideas, kapow kapow, no pause for breath. It’s not trying to be wilfully eclectic; it’s just a reflection of how I schizophrenically devour music.”

Odludek is co-produced by Jimi and Dan Austin (Doves, Pixies) and features tracks co-written with Elbow’s Guy Garvey and one, “Didsbury Girl,” with Simon Dine (who collaborated with Paul Weller on his recent run of albums).

Odludek Tracklisting:


  1. Terracotta Warrior
  2. Didsbury Girl
  3. Live Like A River
  4. Hope
  5. Man v Dingo
  6. Keep My Soul In Song
  7. Oh! Whiskey
  8. Ghost Of The Empties
  9. Lonely At The Drop
  10. 10.  Panic Tree

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide