2003 Kennedy Center Honors Announced

James Brown, Carol Burnett, Loretta Lynn, Mike Nichols and Itzhak Perlman have been chosen for the 26th annual Kennedy Center Honors.

James A. Johnson, chairman of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, said Tuesday that all five are being honored “for the unique and extremely valuable contributions they have made to the cultural life of our nation.”

President Bush and first lady Laura Bush will hold a White House reception for the honorees on December 7, followed by a gala performance at the Kennedy Center Opera House. Stars from around the world take part in the performance, but the five winners traditionally remain in the audience.

The show will reopen the Opera House, which has been closed for refurbishing since last fall.

Source cnn.com.

Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide