68 Unreleased Tracks Planned For Nirvana Box Set

Geffen has confirmed additional details regarding the Nirvana boxed set, “With the Lights Out,” due Nov. 23. The three-CD, one-DVD package will include 81 tracks, 68 of which are previously unreleased. Included are a selection of Kurt Cobain’s home demos, live tracks and studio outtakes. The DVD boasts footage of the fledgling band playing a 1987 house party as well as studio and rehearsal clips.

“With the Lights Out” was originally intended for release in Christmas 2001, to coincide with the 10-year anniversary of Nirvana’s breakthrough album, “Nevermind.” But surviving members Dave Grohl and Krist Novoselic were thwarted by lawsuits from Cobain’s widow Courtney Love, who objected to their planned use of the previously unreleased track “You Know You’re Right” in the set.

The dispute was eventually settled in September 2002, with the parties agreeing to earmark “You Know You’re Right” for a self-titled Nirvana compilation released the following month.

Source billboard.com.

Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide