Bright Eyes Releasing Two New Albums – Rock & Acoustic

Conor Oberst will release two new albums in January under his Bright Eyes moniker, one a collection of acoustic songs and the other a more rock-oriented affair. “I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning” and “Digital Ash in a Digital Urn” will be issued by Saddle Creek, and preceded by Oct. 26 by the respective singles “Lua” and “Take It Easy.”

The releases will serve as a simultaneous follow-up to 2002’s “Lifted or the Story Is in the Soil, Keep Your Ear to the Ground,” which reached No. 2 on Billboard’s Heatseekers chart and has sold 174,000 copies in the United States, according to Nielsen SoundScan.

The 10-track “I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning” is described as a “country-tinged melange” that sports guest appearances by Emmylou Harris on three tracks and My Morning Jacket’s Jim James on one other. “Digital Ash” boasts five tracks with Yeah Yeah Yeahs guitarist Nick Zinner.

Additional guest appearances spread across the two sets include the Postal Service’s Jimmy Tamborello, producer Mike Mogis and members of fellow Saddle Creek bands Rilo Kiley, Cursive, Now It’s Overhead and the Faint, among others.

Oberst recently wrapped a run of dates on the Vote for Change tour. A six-date European swing begins Nov. 7 in Stockholm, to be followed next March by a 10-date support slot on R.E.M.’s tour of Australia and New Zealand.

Here is the track list for “I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning”:

“At the Bottom of Everything” (featuring Jim James)

“We Are Nowhere and It’s Now” (featuring Emmylou Harris)

“Old Soul Song (For the New World Order)” (featuring Emmylou Harris)


“Train Under Water”

“First Day of My Life”

“Another Travelin’ Song”

“Landlocked Blues” (featuring Emmylou Harris)

“Poison Oak”

“Road to Joy”

Here is the track list for “Digital Ash in a Digital Urn”:

“Time Code”

“Gold Mine Gutted”

“Arc of Time (Time Code)”

“Down in a Rabbit Hole” (featuring Nick Zinner)

“Take It Easy (Love Nothing)”

“Hit the Switch” (featuring Nick Zinner)

“I Believe in Symmetry” (featuring Nick Zinner)

“Devil in the Details” (featuring Nick Zinner)

“Ship in a Bottle”

“Light Pollution”

“Theme From Pinata”

“Easy/Lucky/Free” (featuring Nick Zinner)


Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide