Live 8 4-DVD Set Due

A four-disc DVD set of the nine international concerts held on July 2nd as part of Live 8, an initiative organized by Bob Geldof to pressure the G8 to address extreme poverty in Africa, will be released on November 8th. A “generous” royalty from sales of the package — which features performances from artists ranging from Paul McCartney’s duet with U2’s Bono on “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” to Pink Floyd’s reunion — will go to the Band Aid Trust for African relief.

The first three discs focus on the shows at London’s Hyde Park and at Philadelphia’s Museum of Art, with highlights from the events in Paris, Rome, Berlin, Tokyo, Moscow, Toronto and Johannesburg. In addition to the McCartney/Bono concert opener, duets include McCartney and George Michael, Stevie Wonder and Maroon 5’s Adam Levine, and Coldplay and Richard Ashcroft.

The third disc closes with the entire Hyde Park lineup performing the Beatles’ “Hey Jude.” The final disc features a behind-the-scenes documentary of the London show, Pink Floyd’s reunion rehearsal and other extras.

Source: RollingStone

Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide