Rilo Kiley’s Jenny Lewis Finishes Solo Debut

As first reported in billboard last November, Rilo Kiley frontwoman Jenny Lewis will release her solo debut in January. “Rabbit Fur Coat” will be issued by Team Love, the label run by Bright Eyes leader Conor Oberst. Rilo Kiley was formerly labelmates with Bright Eyes on Saddle Creek before establishing its own Brute/Beaute imprint via Warner Bros.

“Rabbit Fur Coat” sports host of top-shelf guest artists, including Oberst, Death Cab For Cutie vocalist Ben Gibbard, Maroon 5 guitarist James Valentine, and singer/songwriter M. Ward, who co-produced with Saddle Creek veteran Mike Mogis. Among the songs set for inclusion are “Melt Your Heart,” “Happy,” “Rise Up With Fists” and the title track.

Rilo Kiley is finishing its stint opening for Coldplay’s North American tour, which hits Minneapolis tonight (Sept. 20). Lewis will then hit the road with a cast of backing musicians to be announced around the release date of “Rabbit Fur Coat.”

Meanwhile, fellow Rilo Kiley principal Blake Sennet is planning to release an album early next year with his side band the Elected, which also features Rilo Kiley’s Jason Boesel.


Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide