Unreleased Jack Johnson & Eddie Vedder Tracks Appear On A Brokedown Melody

Previously unreleased tracks from Jack Johnson and Pearl Jam frontman Eddie Vedder will see the light of day on the soundtrack to the Johnson-spearheaded surfing documentary “A Brokedown Melody.” The album is due Nov. 14 via Johnson’s Brushfire label; the film, which was released on DVD last year, will see theatrical release in November.

Johnson’s contributions are the tracks “Home” and “Sung,” the latter featuring Matt Costa and Zach Gill. Also included is an acoustic version of “Breakdown,” which Johnson wrote while traveling to Chile for a 2001 surf trip with his childhood hero, Gerry Lopez.

Vedder offers the ukulele track “Goodbye,” which he first performed at a March 15, 2002, solo show in Los Angeles. “A Brokedown Melody” is rounded out by previously released tracks from Kings Of Convenience, Built To Spill’s Doug Martsch, the Beta Band, M. Ward and Costa.

In related news, Brushfire has signed artist/producer Money Mark and will release his next album in January.

Here is the track list for “A Brokedown Melody”:

“The Cave,” Culver City Dub Collective

“Home,” Jack Johnson

“Know How,” Kings Of Convenience

“Heart (Things Never Shared),” Doug Martsch

“Goodbye,” Eddie Vedder

“We Need Love,” Johnny Osbourne

“Sung,” Jack Johnson with Matt Costa and Zach Gill

“Needles in My Eyes,” the Beta Band

“Transfiguration No. 1,” M. Ward

“The Road,” Matt Costa

“Vuelvo Al Sur (Koop Remix),” Astor Piazzolla

“Breakdown,” Jack Johnson

Source billboard.com.

Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide