Polvo Returns, Signs With Merge

On September 8th, Merge Records will release In Prism, the first studio album from Polvo since 1997’s Shapes. In Prism was recorded at Echo Mountain in Asheville, North Carolina with Brian Paulson in March of ‘09, with additional recording in Carrboro in May of ‘09.
Polvo formed in 1990 in Chapel Hill, NC. Their lineup consisted of vocalists/guitarists Ash Bowie and Dave Brylawski, bassist Steve Popson, and drummer Eddie Watkins.  The band released 2 full-length albums and 2 EPs on Merge Records, and 2 full-length albums for Touch and Go before disbanding in 1997. Polvo, joined by drummer Brian Quast (Cherry Valence), reformed in 2008 when asked to perform at ATP by Explosions in the Sky. Several festival shows followed, and new songs emerged.

Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide