Rhett Miller Releasing First Ever Solo Live Recording

Critically acclaimed singer/songwriter and Old 97’s front man Rhett Miller is set to release his first ever solo live recording, The Interpreter Live At Largo, on November 22nd.  The 14-song set will be the first release from Miller’s recently established label, Maximum Sunshine Records and was recorded during his final two live performances at the original Largo location on April 11th and 12th of 2008.  The recording features the producer and composer Jon Brion (Kanye West, Magnolia) on five songs.  Comprised of 14 stellar cover songs by original artists The Kinks, Tom Petty, David Bowie, The Ramones, Elliott Smith, The Beatles, Bob Dylan, The Pixies and more, the recording is just as much a homage to the spirit of the legendary Los Angeles venue as it is to the original artists that have meant so much to Miller.  From Miller’s The Interpreter Live At Largo Liner Notes:  "Largo was a magical place.  Musicians, comedians, actors and assorted weirdos gravitated to Largo and filled the tiny club with such joy that all present were inspired."  He continues, "Largo still exists.  It’s moved into The Coronet Theatre.  It’s bigger and better in many ways.  It still feels like family.  But the little old Largo on Fairfax is a moment frozen in time for me.  To be on that stage was to be home."  The Interpreter Live At Largo also includes two studio recordings as bonus tracks — The Pixies classic "Wave Of Mutilation," which features The Pixies’ Joey Santiago on guitar (Miller’s live version of the song is also present) and the Robyn Hitchcock tune "Cynthia Mask."

Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide