The Bogie Band Featuring Joe Russo Announces Debut LP ‘The Prophets In The City’

The Bogie Band featuring Joe Russo has announced its debut album, The Prophets In The City, will be released March 25 on Royal Potato Family. The first single and title track, “The Prophets In The City (Arrival, Balance, Discipline, Joy)” is out today on all streaming platforms and can be heard below. The song sports fiery improvisation that puffs through Afrobeat, world, and jazz while retaining a durable northeast ethos: clearly, this band of musicians will be rewriting live music rules shortly.

while pre-order for the nine track collection on 180-gram vinyl and digital formats is available here. The collective has also added two release shows on March 24 at Brooklyn Bowl Philadelphia and March 26 at Brooklyn Bowl Williamsburg. Tickets go on-sale this Friday, Jan 21 at 12PM ET.

A new collaboration between old friends, The Bogie Band featuring Joe Russo merges tenor saxophonist Stuart Bogie‘s fiery arrangements with Russo’s dynamic drumming. Utilizing only wind and percussion instruments, they are joined by a supporting cast of musicians whose resumes run through some of New York City’s most beloved bands, including Antibalas, The Dap-Kings, Red Barat, Budos Band, St. Vincent and David Byrne’s American Utopia. The resulting efforts captured on The Prophets In The City is riotous and jubilant, pushing the boundaries of wind music.

“The music we’ve created here revels in the human mysteries that unfold in New York City, basking in its connections, ironies, and myths,” explains Bogie. “Through observing its humanity, we hope to invoke the underlying world of the spirits.”

The Bogie Band featuring Joe Russo
The Prophets In The City

Track Listing:
1. The Prophets In The City (Arrival, Balance, Discipline, Joy)
2. The Witnesses
3. We Met Them By The Water
4. Walking With The Holy Fools
5. Take Them On
6. We Organize
7. Joy (Reprise)
8. The Struggle
9. God In Us

The Musicians:
Drums, Timpani, Mallet Percussion: Joe Russo
Percussion: Mauro Refosco, Joe Russo, Korey Richey, Stuart Bogie, Jeff Citron
additional commotion: Karyn Starr, Arthur Lee Johnson, Louis Thebeau Starr Johnson
Sousaphone: John Altieri
Trumpets: Jordan McLean, Michael Leonhart, Dave Guy, Billy Aukstik, Eric Biondo
Trombones: Raymond Mason, Adam Dotson, Dave Smoota Smith
Saxes: Cochemea Gastelum (Bari), Matt Bauder (Bari, Alto), Ian Hendrickson-Smith (Alto), Colin Stetson (Soprano), Stuart Bogie (Tenor, Bari)
Flutes: Domenica Fossati, Stuart Bogie
Choir/Claps: Korey Richey, Jeff Citron, Stuart Bogie, Domenica Fossati, Matt Bauder

Album Release Shows
3/24 – Philadelphia, PA – Brooklyn Bowl Philadelphia
3/26 – Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Bowl Williamsburg

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide