Nicky Egan Reveals Full Length ‘This Life’ Out June 3rd Via Transistor/Colemine- Shares Powerhouse Title Track

Nicky Egan has announced her new full-length This Life, out June 3rd via Transistor Sound/Colemine Records. The announcement comes with the album’s title track — “This song, for me, represents the journey that we experience going from life on this plane to the next, and the beautiful, heartbreaking, incredible transition in between,” Egan told Jazziz. Born and raised outside of Philadelphia and currently based in Los Angeles, Egan has performed all over the country fronting her own musical projects and performing as a hired-gun for Chicano Batman, Tune-Yards, Carla Morrison, Turkuaz, among others.

After graduating from Berklee College of Music with a degree in Contemporary Writing and Production, Egan spent 7 years in Brooklyn, her early years here spent touring as part of powerhouse funk ensemble Turkuaz. After squeezing into old vans and sleeping on floors on DIY tours with the band, she’d then return to the city to make extra cash nannying and waiting tables. After parting ways with Turkuaz to focus on her solo career, Egan independently released three of what she dubbed “digital 45’s,” premiering an A/B side each month, with a video attached to each A side, accompanied by a release show and live screening. These digital 45’s became a 7-song EP, The 45 Homestead Project, which was released via Ropeadope Records, garnering much praise from tastemakers like American Songwriter, Okayplayer and Performer Magazine. 

While at a crossroads in her own project, during a time when she’d have to re-evaluate some tough relationships, Egan received a call from the manager of Los Angeles psych-soul staple, Chicano Batman, looking for a keyboardist and vocalist to join them on their Spring tour. Egan packed a few suitcases, a hat box, and relocated to LA. What was supposed to be a spring run turned into four years of Egan playing keys and singing as a touring member with the band, performing alongside the likes of Portugal The Man, Vampire Weekend, Jack White, and Khurangbin.

In between tour stretches, Nicky Egan has been stealthily plugging away with New York based producer and Dap-Kings guitarist, Joe Crispiano. Beginning with demos written and recorded in Joe’s Staten Island apartment while his neighbor banged on the ceiling, the project came to fruition as a full-length. The album was recorded in part with their friends at the inimitable Diamond Mine Studios, and partially in Dumbo, Brooklyn at an unnamed dungeon where the two spent one too many hours drinking double espressos, margaritas, and building vocal booth forts. Driven by honest confessional songwriting and influenced by your favorite classic soul sounds, the record was recorded to 8 track tape, and features a who’s who of NY’s most sought after players including Homer Steinweiss, Victor Axelrod, Brian Wolfe & Elizabeth Pupo-Walker, to name a few. 


1. Changes

2. Every Part 

3. Bringing Me Down

4. Summer in the City

5. Run Run

6. This Life 

7. Back To You

8. Funny Feeling

9. In the Mirror

10. Godchild

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide