Neil Young & Crazy Horse Releasing 2001’s ‘Toast’ LP

Over the past few years, Neil Young has been going through his large collection of shelved albums and finally giving the public access to these works. Some of those releases include the haunting Homegrown and Hitchhiker, both initially recorded during the 1970s. Today (May 27) word is spreading that we are receiving another archival album. Toast is the Crazy Horse album originally recorded in 2001 but was subsequently shelved. A few of the songs appeared on the collaborative album with Booker T and the M.G.’s Are You Passionate? while the full album sat unreleased, until now. 

Back in 2001, Neil Young and his band Crazy Horse were locked in working on an album at Toast Studio in San Fransico. Young is quoted saying that the environment in the studio was below the usual standards. “The back door opened onto an alley. It was so stuffy in there that we left the door open until one day we saw rats coming in and out. After that, we just went outside for a smoke.” According to Young himself, the album was too heavy for him to process at the time. “Toast was so sad I couldn’t put it out”. 

Over 20 years later, Toast is set to be released to the general public. The release date is set for July 8 but we didn’t have to wait that long for the new New Young & Crazy Horse. The band shared an official recording of “Standing in The Light of Love”, a song that has been performed live by Young since it was first recorded during the Toast sessions. 

Check out the new single and the full tracklist for Toast below. 


1. Quit

2. Standing In The Light Of Love

3. Goin’ Home

4. Timberline

5. Gateway Of Love

6. How Ya Doin’?

7. Boom Boom Boom

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide