WATCH: Kurt Vile and The Violaters Rock “Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone)” On ‘Colbert’

Kurt Vile and The Violators shined in the late-night spotlight last night (June 8) as the musical guest on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert. Vile was joined by a full band during his performance of “Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone)” from his latest project Watch My Moves released in April of this year. Vile also filmed a solo set and covered legendary singer/songwriter John Prine with a performance of “How Lucky” as a web exclusive. 

Kurt Vile recently released his ninth album Watch My Moves which doubles as his first release through a major label. Vile has been releasing smooth singer/songwriter tunes since his debut in 2008, his latest is no different. A 15-song escapade recorded in Vile’s hometown, Lansdowne PA that details the artist’s experiential side while combining it with his roots in Folk-style singing/songwriting. 

In 2020, Vile released a 5-track EP, Speed, Sound, Lonely KV. This project housed the twangy cover of John Prine’s 1979 song “How Lucky”, Prine himself featured on the studio version. Vile performed a solo version of this track when the cameras turned off last night with Colbert.  Vile also recently announced new shows to his ongoing tour- check out the new ones below,,

Check out both performances below. 

KURT VILE TOUR DATES
(new dates in bold)
Thu. June 22 – Santa Fe, NM @ Railyard Park
Thu. July 7 – Oakbank, ON @ Winnipeg Folk Fest
Sat. July 9 -Toronto, ON @ Field Trip
Thu. Aug. 4 – Saint Charles, IA @ Hinterland Music Festival
Tue. Aug. 23 – Helsinki, FI @ Helsinki Festival
Fri. Aug. 26 – London, UK @ All Points East
Sat. Aug. 27 – Bath, UK @ The Forum
Sun. Aug. 28 – Leeds, UK @ Stylus
Mon. Aug. 29 – Glasgow, UK @ qmu
Tue. Aug. 30 – Belfast, IE @ Limelight
Wed. Aug. 31 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street
Fri. Sept. 2 – Birmingham, UK @ Moseley Folk Festival
Sat. Sept. 3 – Manchester, UK @ Manchester Psych Fest
Sun. Sept. 4 – Salisbury, UK @ End of the Road Festival
Mon. Sept. 5 – Antwerpen, BE @ Openluchttheater Rivierenhof
Thu. Sept. 8 – Málaga, ES @ Andalucia Big Festival by Mad Cool
Sat. Sept. 10 – Madrid, ES @ Mad Cool Sunset
Mon. Sept. 12 – Köln, DE @ Gloria-Theater
Tue. Sept. 13 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Wed. Sept. 14 – Nijmegen, NL @ Open Air Theater de Goffert
Thu. Sept. 15 – Berlin, DE @ Huxleys Neue Welt
Fri. Sept. 16 – Copenhagen, DK @ The Grey Hall
Sat. Sept. 17 – Malmö, SE @ Plan B
Mon. Sept. 19 – Kortrijk, DE @ Evenementenhal Depart
Tue. Sept. 20 – Paris, FR @ Le Trianon
Wed. Oct. 12 – Richmond, VA @ The National *
Thu. Oct. 13 – Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom *
Fri. Oct. 14 – Millersville, PA @ Phantom Power *
Sat. Oct. 15 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Sounds Series Block Party – Warhol *
Sun. Oct. 16 – Cincinnati, OH @ Andrew J. Brady ICON Music Center *
Tue. Oct. 18 – Louisville, KY @ Paristown Hall *
Wed. Oct. 19 – Lawrence, KS @ Liberty Hall *
Thu. Oct. 20 – Omaha, NE @ The Admiral *
Fri. Oct. 21 – St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant *
Sat. Oct. 22 – Indianapolis, IN @ Egyptian Room at Old National Centre *
Sun. Oct. 23 – Kalamazoo, MI @ Bell’s Brewery *
Thu. Oct. 27 – Montreal, QC @ Corona Theatre !
Sat. Oct. 29 – Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre !
Sun. Oct. 30 – Boston, MA @ Royale !
Mon. Oct. 31 – Portland, ME @ State Theatre !

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide

Twitter