Neutral Milk Hotel To Drop New Box Set

One of the biggest stories in the world of music this year is undeniably the public return of Jeff Mangum. The reclusive Neutral Milk Hotel front man, who has performed only a handful of times since the band went on permanent hiatus in 1998, is mounting somewhat of a full-scale comeback, as he will headline ATP America’s I’ll Be Your Mirror next month in Asbury Park, NJ, along with a number of additional solo dates.

If those shows weren’t enough to satiate fans of the much beloved indie-rock band, maybe this news will, as yesterday Mangum announced the he will be self-releasing an impressive career spanning vinyl-only box set, as well as revealing a brand spanking new website to go along with it. The set, will include the band’s two studio albums – On Avery Island and In the Aeroplane Over the Sea – along with posters and a picture disc.

The bigger news is that the set will also include two 10″ EPs  – Everything Is and Ferris Wheel On Fire – which will contain 15 songs of unreleased material including two unheard songs Oh Sister and Ferris Wheel On Fire (both of which you can stream now here).

The box, which comes out on November 22, will run you $108, with a dollar from each set donated to the Children of the Blue Sky charity. In addition, the unreleased material will also be available via Mangum’s Bandcamp page starting on November 22, using a pay-what-you-want model.

Here’s the full track listing for the entire box set…

Neutral Milk Hotel box set:

On Avery Island:

Song Against Sex, You’ve Passed, Someone Is Waiting, A Baby For Pree, Marching Theme, Where You’ll Find Me Now,  Avery Island/April 1st, Gardenhead/Leave Me Alone, Three Peaches, Naomi,  April 8th, Pree-Sisters Swallowing a Donkey’s Eye

In The Aeroplane Over The Sea

The King of Carrot Flowers Pt. 1, The King of Carrot Flowers Pts 2 & 3, In The Aeroplane Over The Sea, Two-Headed Boy, The Fool, Holland, 1945, Communist Daughter, Oh Comely, Ghost, Untitled, Two-Headed Boy Pt. 2

Everything Is:

Everything Is, Here We Are (For W. Cullen Hart), Unborn, Tuesday Moon, Ruby Bulbs, Snow Song, Pt. 1, Aunt Eggma Blowtorch

Ferris Wheel On Fire:

Oh Sister, Ferris Wheel On Fire, Home, April 8th, I Will Bury You In Time, Engine, A Baby For Pree/Glow Into You, My Dream Girl Don’t Exist

Holland, 1945 7″:

Holland, 1945, Engine

You’ve Passed/Where You’ll Find Me Now 7″:

You’ve Passed, Where You’ll Find Me Now

“Little Birds” 7″

Little Birds (Studio), Little Birds (Live)

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide