The Sadies Return with New Seasons

 Toronto’s cosmic cowboys The Sadies, consisting of brothers Dallas and Travis Good, drummer Mike Belitsky and upright bassist Sean Dean, return with their fifth studio album, New Seasons, October 2 on Yep Roc Records. Featuring the brotherly harmonies and dazzling guitar interplay of Dallas and Travis Good, New Seasons is the band’s most confident studio album to date. The Sadies’ inspired amalgam of psychedelic country rock, surf, bluegrass and Ennio Morricone-esque inspired instrumentals has made them the preeminent torchbearers of cosmic American music.
Although 2006 saw two Sadies’ releases – their star-studded double live album, In Concert: Volume 1 and an instrumental soundtrack for the Ed “Big Daddy” Roth documentary Tales of the Rat Fink, this is the band’s first studio release since 2004’s Favourite Colours.  New Seasons’ 13 all-original tracks show a greater emphasis on lyrics and narratives, and these tales often are filled with foreboding and of lessons learned the hard way.
Recorded both at Paco Loco in Spain and at the Woodshed in Toronto with friend and collaborator Gary Louris (Jayhawks, Golden Smog), New Seasons’ gorgeously layered harmonies prove that The Sadies have the vocal tracks to equal the mastery of their instrumentals. While the album features appearances by Louris and and Giant Sand’s Howe Gelb contributes piano on a number, New Seasons is pure Sadies. But, as with all Sadies’ albums, it’s also a family affair: Dallas and Travis’ father and uncles, aka Canadian Country Hall of Famers The Good Brothers, as well as their mother, Margaret Good, also contribute.

Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide