Tortoise Plans Two New Albums

Chicago instrumental rock act Tortoise tackles material by some unlikely sources on “The Brave and the Bold,” a collaborative album with indie rock icon Will Oldham. The 10-track set is due early next year via Overcoat Recordings, which recently issued a collaborative EP from Iron & Wine and Calexico.

Among the surprising selections on “The Brave and the Bold” are Bruce Springsteen’s “Thunder Road,” Elton John’s “Daniel” and Richard and Linda Thompson’s “Cavalry Cross.” The album is rounded out by material originally recorded by Devo (“That’s Pep”), the Minutemen (“It’s Expected I’m Gone”), Milton Nascimento, Lungfish, Quixotic, Melanie and Don Williams.

Meanwhile, Tortoise is gearing up for its fall tour backing artist/producer Daniel Lanois, which begins Oct. 6 in Los Angeles. The parties have yet to rehearse together, but McCombs says the “idea is that we can be interpretive, like using his songs as a jumping-off point to do whatever seems natural. Most of the stuff he sent us is really open-ended.”

Tortoise will also test out some new material during its own sets, with an eye on returning to the studio by the end of the year and a hopeful fall 2006 release date for its next Thrill Jockey album. It will be the follow-up to 2004’s “It’s All Around You,” which debuted at No. 13 on Billboard’s Top Independent Albums tally.

Source: Billboard

Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide