Robert Pollard Launches New Solo Album

Former Guided By Voices leader Robert Pollard will on Oct. 10 release his second Merge solo album of the year, “Normal Happiness.” As first reported here in November, the set features “16 two-minute pop songs,” according to Pollard, who crafted the material from ideas that went unused on his 2004 soundtrack to the Steven Soderbergh film “Bubble.”

As with January’s “From a Compound Eye,” the new album is collaboration with producer Todd Tobias. “I spent two-and-a-half days in the studio doing my vocals and guitar and he spent two weeks finishing it,” Pollard tells “It has gotten to the point where it’s like, just do it, Todd, and I don’t care what you do. I trust you entirely. I don’t know how many projects I have done with him, maybe 10, but the success ratio is 100%.”


Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide