Tony Furtado Hones Songcraft With ‘Thirteen’ Due Jan ’07

With ‘Thirteen,’ Tony Furtado fulfills the immense promise of his 2004 breakthrough ‘These Chains,’ his initial foray into songwriting and singing.

‘Thirteen,’ set for January 23, 2007 release on Funzalo Records, reveals Furtado as an artist with a great deal on his mind and a full arsenal of skills with which to express his thoughts and feelings.

Recorded to 16-track, two-inch analog tape during the summer of 2005 at Tucson’s Wavelab Studios (a favorite venue for Calexico, Neko Case, M. Ward, Iron & Wine and other cult heroes), the album features an all-star cast including keyboardists Sean Slade (whose production credits include Uncle Tupelo and Radiohead) and Jim Dickinson (producer of the seminal Ry Cooder albums that inspired Furtado to take up the slide guitar, plus Big Star and the Replacements), bassist Dusty Wakeman (whose resume includes three previous Furtado LPs, Dwight Yoakam, Lucinda Williams and Anne McCue), drummer Winston Watson (who has played with Dylan and Giant Sand) and Wavelab’s own Craig Schumacher (Calexico, Case, Iron & Wine), who produced and engineered.

Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide