Shortlist Prize Finalists Named

The Shortlist Music Prize has listed its 10 finalists for its 2007 award. Those who made the cut from a total of 61 nominations are the Band of Horses, Beirut, Bonnie Prince Billy, Cat Power, Girl Talk, Hot Chip, Joanna Newsom, Regina Spektor, Spank Rock and Tom Waits.

After a year’s hiatus, the Shortlist Music Prize is returning this year to recognize noteworthy 2006 albums that have not yet sold 500,000 units in the United States. The winner will be unveiled on a date to be determined.

This year’s Listmakers are Snow Patrol’s Gary Lightbody, the Killers’ Ronnie Vannucci, Franz Ferdinand, KT Tunstall, Panic! At The Disco, the Flaming Lips’ Wayne Coyne, Sufjan Stevens and journalists Toure and Rev. Moose. The full Long List can still be viewed on the Shortlist Web site.

The Shortlist Prize launched in 2001 and was won in its maiden year by Sigur Ros. Subsequent winners were N*E*R*D, Damien Rice and TV On The Radio.

Last year, the Shortlist morphed into the New Pantheon Award, after a dispute between former Shortlist partners Tom Sarig and Greg Spotts. Stevens’ "Illinois" claimed the 2006 New Pantheon Award, although no public ceremony was ever held.
Source Billboard

Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide