October 4, 2004

Wilco 8/30/2004: Memorial Auditorium – Burlington, VT

Rumor has it Wilco will be returning to the studio shortly, to capture the live energy from this six-man rotation on record. If the record is as festive as their Burlington performance, than Wilco is truly just a getting started, rather than just a ghost being born.

Read More

Rolling Stones Ready Live Licks Double Disc

The most successful tour of 2003 is coming to CD. The Rolling Stones’ 40 Licks outing will be preserved as a two-disc CD package and will feature recordings of guest appearances by Sheryl Crow and Solomon Burke. “Live Licks,” due Nov. 2 in North America via Virgin, will also include 11 songs never before released on any official Stones live title.

From its start in September 2002, the 40 Licks tour grossed nearly $300 million as it played to more than 3.4 million people across 113 shows, as reported to Billboard Boxscore. The tour, which played stadiums, arenas and small theaters around the world, is the second highest-grossing ever, behind only the band’s Voodoo Lounge stadium tour, which grossed $320 million in 1994-95.

Crow opened for the Stones on several of the tour’s North American dates, and frequently appeared on stage to duet with Mick Jagger on “Honky Tonk Women” (included here) and “Wild Horses.” Burke, meanwhile, joined the band onstage in Los Angeles to perform his own “Everybody Needs Somebody To Love,” which closes out the second “Live Licks” disc.

The rest of the collection is split between favorites and relative obscurities. Among the better known tracks are “Brown Sugar,” “Paint It Black,” “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction,” “Angie” and “Start Me Up.” A pledge to dig deeper into the band’s vast catalog while on the road turned out such songs as “Rocks Off,” “When The Whip Comes Down” and “Worried About You.” There are also a handful of covers, including a version of Hoagy Carmichael’s “The Nearness of You” led by guitarist Keith Richards.

The 40 Licks tour, which included a January 2003 live HBO concert broadcast from New York’s Madison Square Garden, came in conjunction with the 40-track retrospective, “40 Licks.” The Virgin collection featured four new songs and debuted at No. 1 on The Billboard 200. It has sold 2.35 million copies in the Unites States, according to Nielsen SoundScan.

Here is the “Live Licks” track list:

Disc one:
“Brown Sugar”
“Street Fighting Man”
“Paint It, Black”
“You Can’t Always Get What You Want”
“Start Me Up”
“It’s Only Rock n’ Roll”
“Honky Tonk Women” featuring Sheryl Crow
“Gimme Shelter”
“(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction”

Disc two:
“Monkey Man”
“Rocks Off”
“Can’t You Hear Me Knocking”
“That’s How Strong My Love Is”
“The Nearness of You”
“Beast Of Burden”
“When the Whip Comes Down”
“Rock Me, Baby”
“You Don’t Have To Mean It”
“Worried About You”
“Everybody Needs Somebody To Love” featuring Solomon Burke

Source billboard.com.

Read More

Austin City Limits TV Series Kicks Off

The 30th season of the PBS performance series “Austin City Limits” kicked off on October 2nd with a one-hour episode starring John Fogerty. This season will also boast episodes featuring Robert Randolph & the Family Band (Oct. 9), Damien Rice and Patty Griffin (Oct. 16), Michael McDonald and Joss Stone (Oct. 23) and Lyle Lovett and Jamie Cullum (Oct. 30).

“‘Austin City Limits’ is the source for authentic music on television,” says Terry Lickona, who produces the series for KLRU Austin and Capitol Sports & Entertainment. “This season, we’re enhancing the show by improving sound and lighting and debuting a new opening sequence with highlights from some of our best performances.”

A pair of episodes slated for later this season will stem from the now annual Austin City Limits Music Festival: Sheryl Crow and former Phish guitarist/singer Trey Anastasio. Other shows will boast reunited modern rock act the Pixies, Latin groove group Ozomatli and modern rock acts the Flaming Lips and Bright Eyes.

Source billboard.com.

Read More

Unreleased Strummer, Rancid Kick Hellcat Compilation

Unreleased tracks by the late Joe Strummer, Rancid and others fill out the ranks of the latest “cheapo” compilation from the independent Hellcat Records label. “Give ‘Em the Boot IV” boasts 26 tracks, nine of which are previously unissued.

Strummer is represented by a live version of “Junco Partner” recorded with his band, the Mescaleros, at London’s Brixton Academy. Strummer originally covered the classic track with the Clash on the band’s landmark 1980 set “Sandinista!” (Epic).

Rancid adds “Killing Zone” to the set, while other unreleased cuts come from Dropkick Murphys (Woody Guthrie’s “I’m Shipping Up to Boston”), the Slackers (“Propaganda”), F-Minus (“Caught In Between”), Die Hunns (“Marshall Law”) and the Unseen (“Waste of Time”). Additionally, Nekromantix’s cover of Rancid’s “Dead Bodies” and a remix of the Transplants’ “Romper Stomper” round out the previously unheard gems on “Give ‘Em the Boot IV.”

Also included on the set are tracks by Rancid’s Lars Frederiksen and his side project, the Bastards, Mercy Killers, the Aggrolites, HorrorPops, Rezurex, South Central Riot Squad, Tiger Army and more.

In 2002, the third volume of the “Give ‘Em the Boot” series bowed at No. 9 on Billboard’s Top Independent Album chart. The first reached No. 183 on The Billboard 200 in 1997.

Here is the “Give ‘Em the Boot IV” track list:

“Killing Zone,” Rancid
“Dirty Reggae,” the Aggrolites
“Atomic,” Tiger Army
“Propaganda,” the Slackers
“Kiss Kiss, Kill Kill,” Roger Miret and the Disasters
“Lost Paradise,” U.S. Roughnecks
“Caught In Between,” F-Minus
“Marshall Law,” Die Hunns
“I’m Shipping Up To Boston,” Dropkick Murphys
“1%,” Lars Frederiksen and the Bastards
“That’s What I Know,” Brain Failure
“Let There Be Peace,” Chris Murray
“Dead Bodies,” Nekromantix
“Romper Stomper” (remix), Transplants
“Junco Partner” (live), Joe Strummer and the Mescaleros
“No Rest for the Weekend,” Orange
“Dia De Los Muertos,” Rezurex
“Waste of Time,” the Unseen
“Break Me,” Ducky Boys
“Where They Wander,” HorrorPops
“S.C Drunx,” South Central Riot Squad
“Trauma,” Mercy Killers
“Skinwalkers,” 12 Step Rebels
“Wasted Life,” the Escaped
“Rise Up,” Pressure Point
“Room To Breathe,” Westbound Train

Source billboard.com.

Read More

View posts by year

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide