SONG PREMIERE: Ontario Band Sulfur City Share Gritty Rocker “Ride With Me”

How much can you say you know about Northeastern Ontario? Chances are, not much. But here in this corner of Canada is where you can find the hard-hitting blues rock band Sulfur City. The quintet is fronted by the wildly charismatic Lori Paradis, a singer and electric washboard player who has drawn comparisons to legendary female rock and rollers like Grace Slick, Patti Smith and Janis Joplin. Paradis was raised in a small mining village in Northeastern Ontario, and her lyrics reflect her life experience, which has included jobs on the rougher side of blue collar life such as a truck driver on a construction crew, a bartender and a house painter, to name a few. The singer channels this into her onstage presence, and as a result she manages to tap into aggressive, bluesy vocals that are ideally suited for her talented band.

On Sulfur City’s forthcoming studio album Talking Loud, which drops May 27th on Alive Naturalsound Records, the band can be found firing on all cylinders with their bluesy psychedelic rock that seems to have been transported straight from the 60’s and 70’s. Between the loose, funky organ, mind-bending guitars and drumming, and of course the ferocious vocal power of Lori Paradis, Sulfur City are cranking out music to dance and get weird to. One song that reflects all of that is “Ride With Me”, which you can hear an exclusive first listen of today on Glide. 

Lori Paradis reflects on the bigger picture and the implications of today’s society expressed in “Ride With Me”, saying, “We are so goal oriented today. There is no room for exploration, wonderment or aimless wondering. We measure our lives by prosperity and milestones or by obstacles and stumbling blocks. The song expresses the freedom and joy found in the journey of life and the willingness to be exposed to it.”

[youtube id=”Gk9jZYKXNW0″ width=”630″ height=”350″]

Sulfur City’s Talking Loud will available May 27th in limited vinyl, CD and digital formats through Alive Naturalsound Records. PRE-ORDER


01 Whispers

02 War Going On

03 Pockets

04 Ride With Me

05 Don’t Lie To Me

06 Sold

07 Highways

08 Johnny

09 One Day In June

10 Raise Hammer

11 You Don’t Know Me

Band Website –
Band Facebook –

Cover photo: A Kaiser

Related Content

One Response

  1. Sulfur City ” ride with me ” remind me Jefferson Airplane vocal circa ’68 & Steppenwolf sound later 69 roots ;….great technology & savoir-faire ( on Alive rds ) ////// Radio 103.1 / FR.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide