Marlon Williams Announces Sophomore LP ‘Make Way For Love’

ShareShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someoneShare on StumbleUpon

New Zealand’s Marlon Williams will release his sophomore album, Make Way For Love, on February 16th via Dead Oceans. Known for his effortlessly distinctive voice, Make Way For Love marks Marlon’s exponential growth as a songwriter. Throughout 11 original songs, he explores new musical terrain and reveals himself in an unprecedented way in the wake of a fractured relationship. In conjunction with today’s album announcement, Marlon announces an international tour and shares the album’s penultimate track, “Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore,” a duet with Aldous Harding, recorded via a late-night long distance phone call, plus an accompanying video filmed in New York City.

While Make Way For Love draws on Marlon’s own story, it captures the vagaries of relationships we’ve all been through: the bliss, ache, uncertainty, and bitterness. Like the best breakup records, Make Way For Love doesn’t shy away from heartbreak, but rather stares it in the face, and mines beauty from it. Delicate and bold, tender and searing, it’s a mightily personal new step.

Make Way For Love was recorded with producer Noah Georgeson and his backing band, The Yarra Benders, in North California’s Panoramic Studios after several weeks of pre-production in Marlon’s native Lyttelton, New Zealand with regular collaborator Ben Edwards. The finished result is an expansive record that moves Marlon several paces from “country” — the genre that’s been affixed to him more than any in recent years — with forays into cinematic strings, reverb, rollicking guitar and at least one quiet piano ballad.

Currently in the midst of a sold out global preview tour to support his stand alone single, “Vampire Again,” Marlon will take his live show to dozens of cities around the world next year for his largest ever headline tour. All dates are below. Tickets for North America will be on sale Nov. 10th at http://www.marlonwilliams.co.nz/.

Watch “Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore” Video –

Make Way For Love Tracklist:
1. Come To Me
2. What’s Chasing You
3. Beautiful Dress
4. Party Boy
5. Can I Call You
6. Love Is A Terrible Thing
7. I Know A Jeweller
8. I Didn’t Make A Plan
9. The Fire Of Love
10. Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore
11. Make Way For Love

Pre-order Make Way For Love –
https://marlon-williams.lnk.to/makewayforlove

Marlon Williams Tour Dates:
Thu. Nov. 9 – Auckland, NZ @ Point Chev RSA (SOLD OUT)
Fri. Nov. 10 – Auckland, NZ @ Point Chev RSA (SOLD OUT)
Sat. Nov. 11 – Wellington, NZ @ San Fran (SOLD OUT)
Sun. Nov. 12 – Christchurch, NZ @ Blue Smoke (SOLD OUT)
Mon. Nov. 13 – Christchurch, NZ @ Blue Smoke (SOLD OUT)
Wed. Nov. 15 – Sydney, Australia @ Oxford Art Factory (SOLDOUT)
Thu. Nov. 16 – Melbourne, Australia @ Howler (SOLD OUT)
Fri. Nov. 17 – Mullumbimby, Australia @ Mullumbimby Music Festival
Sun. Nov. 19 – Melbourne, Australia @ Howler (SOLD OUT)
Mon. Nov. 20 – Melbourne, Australia @ Howler (SOLD OUT)
Thu. Feb. 22 — Bristol, UK @ Louisiana
Fri. Feb. 23 — Manchester, UK @ Night & Day
Sat. Feb. 24 — Dublin, IE @ Whelans
Mon. Feb. 26 — Glasgow, IE @ King Tuts
Tue. Feb. 27 — Leeds, UK @ Community Room
Wed. Feb. 28 — London, UK @ Scala
Mon. Mar. 5 — Montreal, QC @ Petit Campus
Tue. Mar. 6 — Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Thu. Mar. 8 — Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Fri. Mar. 9 — Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Sat. Mar. 10 — Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar
Tue. Mar. 13 – Sat. Mar. 17 — Austin TX @ SXSW
Sun. Mar. 18 — Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Mon. Mar. 19 — Dallas, TX @ Three Links Deep Ellum
Wed. Mar. 21 — Nashville, TN @ High Watt
Fri. Mar. 23 — Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Sat. Mar. 24 — Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Sun. Mar. 25 — Boston, MA @ Great Scott
Tue. Mar. 27 — Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Thu. Mar. 29 — Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Sun. Apr. 1 — Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Tue. Apr. 3 — San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall
Wed. Apr. 4 — Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram
Wed. Apr. 11 — Brussels, BE @ AB Club
Thu. Apr. 12 — Cologne, DE @ Yuca
Fri. Apr. 13 — Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord
Sat. Apr. 14 — Hamburg, DE @ Nochtwache
Sun. Apr. 15 — Copenhagen, DK @ Ideal Bar
Tue. Apr. 17 — Oslo, NO @ Cafe Mono
Wed. Apr. 18 — Stockholm, SE @ Kagelbanan
Fri. Apr. 20 — Berlin, DE @ Privatclub
Sat. Apr. 21 — Munich, DE @ Orange House
Sun. Apr. 22 — Vienna, CH @ Chelsea
Tue. Apr. 24 — Bologna, IT @ Locomotiv
Wed. Apr. 25 — Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Thu. Apr. 26 — Besancon, FR @ La Rodia
Fri. Apr. 27 — Paris, FR @ Point Ephemere
Sat. Apr. 28 — Utrecht, NL @ Ekko

Photo credit: Steve Gullick

ShareShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someoneShare on StumbleUpon

Related Posts

Leave A Response

Example Skins

dark_red dark_navi dark_brown light_red light_navi light_brown

Primary Color

Link Color

Background Color

Background Patterns

pattern-1 pattern-2 pattern-3 pattern-4 pattern-5 pattern-6

Main text color