Israel Nash Releases “Lucky Ones” Video – Second Single Off Upcoming New LP ‘Lifted’

Israel Nash, Texas’ Hill Country troubadour, has premiered the video for “Lucky Ones,” (below) the second single from his upcoming new album, Lifted, out July 27th, 2018 via Desert Folklore Music/Thirty Tigers. The video is a look into Nash’s life on his ranch in the Texas Hill Country, illustrating the inspiration he finds in the landscape, from his family, his home studio Plum Creek Sound, and found sounds he recorded and used throughout the album. Israel Nash and his band kick off an extensive album release tour on Lifted‘s release date at Austin’s Scoot Inn, and hits 25+ markets across the country, including three new headline dates announced today in Louisville, KY, San Louis Obispo, CA, Fort Collins, CO and a stop at the inaugural Holler On the Hill Festival in Indianapolis, IN this September. All confirmed dates are listed below, with tickets on sale now at

On Lifted, Nash set out to create a listening experience that was almost an immersive representation of his environment, recording drums played in rain collection tanks, water rushing against the limestone, frogs, crickets, and even a rattlesnake. Taking inspiration from methods pioneered by John Cage, Nash then randomized the sounds and music before rearranging them according to the I Ching (The Book of Changes). Using the “Lucky Ones” video as a nod to these methods, Nash describes, “Lucky Ones’ is a song about everything being connected — people, nature, the whole thing and beyond. I wanted the video to illustrate those vibes I feel when I’m here in my place. On the ranch, with my family and my studio, Plum Creek Sound out here in the Hill Country, where I live and create… and sometimes when I get to wear a white suit and forage the land for its sacred sounds and visions!”

Lifted, a modern day hippie-spiritual, finds Nash continuing his tradition of creating a sonic landscape that is at once both vast and intimate – soaring and untamed at times, placid and sincerely personal at others. Accompanied by his longtime band, with arrangements by Jesse Chandler (Mercury Rev, Midlake), horns by members of Austin’s cumbia/funk compadre’s Grupo Fantasma, and strings from Kelsey Wilson and Sadie Wolf (Wild Child), Nash, alongside co-producer and engineer Ted Young (Kurt Vile, The Rolling Stones), presents an album that soars with meticulously crafted, multi-hued rock and psychedelia.

The album was recorded at Israel Nash’s studio, a Quonset hut structure called Plum Creek Sound at his home in Dripping Springs, Texas. During the process the studio became a sanctuary for Nash, a creative environment where he often reached a meditative state of escapism, creating a space where he could leave behind his downhearted feelings about the current political landscape and the bigger, existential questions those concerns raise.




  1. Rolling On (Intro)
  2. Rolling On
  3. Looking Glass
  4. Lucky Ones
  5. Sweet Springs (Intro)
  6. Sweet Springs
  7. SpiritFalls
  8. Northwest Stars (Out Of Tacoma)
  9. Hillsides
  10. The Widow
  11. Strong Was The Night
  12. Golden Fleeces


Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide