Elise Davis Announces New Album ‘Anxious. Happy. Chill’ Out 4/16

Today, the Nashville-based singer/songwriter Elise Davis announced her third studio album Anxious. Happy. Chill. will be released on April 16 via Tone Tree. Davis released “Yellow Bed,” following the release of three singles in 2020 (“Ladybug,” “The Grid,” and “Flame Color”) that will appear on the forthcoming album. Pre-save the album now via Spotify.  Check out “Yellow Bed”

“I lived alone for a very long time. My bed was temporary for others and I very much liked having my own space. That was until I met my now-husband Jason,” explains Davis. “After we moved in together there were these moments of absolute bliss I would feel getting into our bed together at night, simply experiencing my bed also being someone else’s bed. It is a place we meet and fall into our own little world every night. The great amount of joy that has given me was the inspiration for this song.”

Anxious. Happy. Chill. was recorded just days after wrapping her honeymoon in Arizona, where she finished writing the album in the Sonoran Desert outside Tucson. Davis recorded the album with producer Teddy Morgan (Carl Broemel) at his studio in Nashville, TN. With the Covid-19 pandemic already in full swing, Davis and Morgan worked together for a month while maintaining their physical distance, communicating through the glass windows of the studio’s isolation booths and playing the majority of the instruments themselves. Drummer Fred Eltringham (Sheryl Crow, The Wallflowers) joined them for a single day to lend the album its unique, percussive pulse.

The album was written during the rush of a new relationship and recorded weeks after Davis’ wedding. It’s the happiest record she’s ever made, stocked with 10 songs that serve as foils to the independent, no-boys-allowed anthems that filled her critically-acclaimed 2018 sophomore album, Cactus. Davis remains every bit as resilient and empowered as Cactus proved her to be, but she has also traded her old muses — heartache, sadness, and a lone-wolf mentality — for something bolder and brighter.

Anxious. Happy. Chill. Track List:

1) Ladybug

2) Yellow Bed

3) The Grid

4) Honeymoon

5) Flame Color

6) Thirty

7) Summertime

8) Waves

9) Empty Rooms

10) Another Year

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide