Django Django Announce Four Part Album ‘Off Planet’ Due June 16th

Django Django today has announced the release of ‘Off Planet’, an album in four parts, set for a full release on 16th June 2023 via Because Music.

The fifth full-length studio album from the UK four-piece was conceptualised by Django Django co-founder and powerhouse Dave Maclean, buzzing on ufology as “a way to go beyond”, to bring new voices, new rhythms, new experimentation into play, and effectively to deconstruct the band’s identity.

Released in four parts, each as a separate “planet”, ‘Off Planet’ is the biggest, boldest, and most varied statement the band have made, with a cavalcade of mainstream and underground stars – Self EsteemJack PeñateStealing SheepToya Delazy and many more, all of them either friends of the band or personally sought out by Dave – bringing entirely new creative angles into play. From bluesy pop and Middle Eastern cabaret goth to Afro acid and piano rave, to call it kaleidoscopic is putting it mildly. Despite at times not sounding like anything on their previous releases, ‘Off Planet’ is very much still recognisably Django Django

Off Planet’ Part 1, which features the first five tracks from the full length-album, is available to stream today, here.

“Complete Me” ft. Self Esteem, the first single to be shared from the album’s Part 1, is an explosion of 90’s inspired breakbeat. Packed with organs, pianos and synth strings, the track makes Rebecca Lucy Taylor’s hooks completely irresistible, as if echoing from some familiar memory. A long associate of the band, Self Esteem released her first EP on Dave’s Kick + Clap label, appearing on 2018’s Marble Skies and supporting the Djangos on tour.

Of the song, Maclean says, “The instrumental for Complete Me was made sometime in 2020 or 21 when the world was in lockdown and I was making music in my garden shed studio. It was a dance track that I didn’t really know what to do with. I sent it to Rebecca and she loved the vibe of it and really quickly came up with some vocal ideas that kind of stuck straight away and locked well with the track. The production was inspired by a lot of 90s breakbeat house and hip-house records that I’ve always been really into and loved Djing with over the years.”


Full album tracklist:
1. Wishbone
2. Complete Me ft. Self Esteem
3. Osaka
4. Hands High ft Refound*
5. Lunar Vibrations ft Isabelle Woodhouse
6. Don’t Touch That Dial ft. Yuuko
7. Back to Back ft. Patience
8. Squid Inc 
9. Come Down
10. Golden Cross
11. No Time ft. Jack Penate
12. A New Way Through
13. Galaxy Mood ft. Toya Delazy 
14. The Oh Zone
15. Dead Machine ft. Stealing Sheep
16. Dumb Drum
17. Fluxus
18. Slipstream
19. Who You Know ft. Bernardo
20. Black Cadillac
21. Gazelle

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide