Mars Volta Readies Second Album

Rock act the Mars Volta will release its sophomore album, “Frances the Mute,” March 1 via Strummer/Universal. Expanding on the progressive epics of the former At The Drive-In members’ 2003 debut, “Deloused in the Comatorium,” the new set features 77 minutes of music spread across five tracks, three of which contain multiple subsections.

First single “The Widow” is an anthemic, mid-tempo rocker accented by an acoustic guitar intro and organ flourishes. “Frances the Mute” was produced by group member Omar Rodriguez and mixed by Rich Costey, who provided the same service on “De-loused in the Comatorium.”

The Mars Volta will begin a five-week international tour Feb. 5-6 at the Sonic Mania festival in Tokyo and Osaka, Japan. The event will also boast sets by Good Charlotte, Velvet Revolver, Marilyn Manson, Kings Of Leon and Sparta, the other band formed by ex-members of At The Drive-In.

Here is the track list for “Frances the Mute”:

“Cygnus…Vismund Cygnus”

A. “Sarcophagi”

B. “Umbilical Syllables”

C. “Facilis Descenus Averni”

D. “Con Safo”

“The Widow”

“L’ Via L’ Viaquez”

“Miranda That Ghost Just Isn’t Holy Anymore”

A. “Vade Mecum”

B. “Pour Another Icepick”

C. “Pisacis (Phra-Men-Ma)”

D. “Con Safo”

“Cassandra Gemini”

A. “Tarantism”

B. “Plant a Nail in the Navel Stream”

C. “Faminepulse”

D. “Multiple Spouse Wounds”

E. “Sarcophagi”


Related Content

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide