Prog-Metal Warriors Mastodon to Release New Live LP


Prog-metal titans Mastodon are currently riding one of the most impressive LP streaks in modern rock music, ranging from 2004’s blood-curling Leviathan to 2011’s schizoid The Hunter. Hopefully they’ll continue building momentum with Mastodon: Live at Brixton, a new live album set for release on December 10th.

The album chronicles the band’s concert at London’s O2 Academy on February 11th, 2012, which capped off the Atlanta quartet’s world tour in support of The Hunter. The 97-minute show will be available in both audio and video formats at iTunes, Amazon, and other digital retailers.

The band is available hard at work on their next studio album. A press release says that more details will be “revealed soon,” so we can only assume a formal announcement is coming.

Check out the tracklist (and a trailer for the release) below:

1. Dry Bone Valley
2. Black Tongue
3. Crystal Skull
4. I Am Ahab
5. Capillarian Crest
6. Colony of Birchmen
7. Megalodon
8. Thickening
9. Blasteroid
10. Sleeping Giant
11. Ghost of Karelia
12. All The Heavy Lifting
13. Spectrelight
14. Curl of the Burl
15. Bedazzled Fingernails
16. Circle of Cysquatch
17. Aqua Dementia
18. Crack The Skye
19. Where Strides The Behemoth
20. Iron Tusk
21. March of the Fireants
22. Blood and Thunder
23. Creature Lives

Also, just for the hell of it, here’s the band playing one of my favorite tracks — the crunchy, Sabbath-esque “Curl of the Burl” — on Letterman:

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide