Angel Olsen Announces B-sides, Rarities, and Demos Collection, ‘Phases’

ShareShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someoneShare on StumbleUpon

Angel Olsen will release Phases, a collection of B-sides, rarities, and demos from the past several years, including a number of never-before released tracks, on November 10th via Jagjaguwar. Balancing tenacity and tenderness, Phases acts as a deep-dive for longtime fans, as well as a fitting introduction to Olsen’s sprawling sonics for the uninitiated.

From the lo-fi, sparse folk-melancholy of her 2010 EP, “Strange Cacti,” to the electrified, polished rock ‘n’ roll bursting from last year’s beloved and acclaimed MY WOMAN, which won The A2IM Libera Awards’ Album of the Year, Olsen has refused to succumb to a single genre, expectation, or vision. Impossible to pin down, she navigates the world with her remarkable, symphonic voice and a propensity for narrative, her music growing into whatever shape best fits to tell the story.

Phases opens with “Fly On Your Wall,” previously contributed to the Bandcamp-only Our First 100 Days fundraiser, before seamlessly slipping into “Special,” a brand new song from the MY WOMAN recording sessions. Both “How Many Disasters” and “Sans” are first-time listens: home-recorded demos that have never been released, leaning heavily on Olsen’s arresting croon and lonesome guitar. The B-sides compilation is both a testament to Olsen’s enormous musical range and a tidy compilation of tracks that have previously been elusive in one way or another.

Olsen continues to tour extensively in support of MY WOMAN and Phases. She’ll close out the year playing her biggest rooms yet. Additionally, she makes her debut on Austin City Limits’ Season 43 this fall.

Phases Tracklist:
1. Fly On Your Wall
2. Special
3. Only You
4. All Right Now
5. Sans
6. Sweet Dreams
7. California
8. Tougher Than the Rest
9. For You
10. How Many Dreams
11. May as Well
12. Endless Road

Pre-order Phases
https://angelolsen.lnk.to/phases

Angel Olsen Tour Dates:
Fri. Sep. 29 — Lincoln, NE @ Bourbon Theatre (Lincoln Calling)
Sat. Sep. 30 — Maquoketa, IA @ Codfish Hollow Barnstormers &
Sun. Oct. 1 — Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theater &
Mon. Oct. 2 — Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue &
Wed. Oct. 4 — St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant &
Thu. Oct. 5 — Lawrence, KS @ The Granada &
Sat. Oct. 7 — Austin, TX @ Austin City Limits Festival
Sat. Oct. 14 — Austin, TX @ Austin City Limits Festival
Wed. Oct. 18 — San Diego, CA @ Viejas Arena #
Fri. Oct. 20 — Los Angeles, CA @ The Forum #
Sat. Oct. 21 — Oakland, CA @ Oracle Arena #
Sun. Oct. 22 — Las Vegas, NV @ Mandalay Bay Events Center #
Mon. Oct. 23 — Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot $
Sat. Nov. 18 — Mexico City, DF @ Corona Capital
Tue. Nov. 28 — Charlottesville, VA @ Jefferson Theater %
Wed. Nov. 29 — New York, NY @ Town Hall ^
Thu. Nov. 30 — New York, NY @ Town Hall ^
Fri. Dec. 1 — Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel ^
Sat. Dec. 2 — Portland, ME @ State Theatre ^
Mon. Dec. 4 — Boston, MA @ House of Blues ^
Tue. Dec. 5 — Montreal, QC @ Rialto Theatre ^
Wed. Dec. 6 — Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre ^
Thu. Dec. 7 — Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre ^
Fri. Dec. 8 — Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre ^
Sat. Dec. 9 — Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre ^
Sun. Dec. 10 — Louisville, KY @ Mercury Ballroom *
Tue. Dec. 12 — Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
Wed. Dec. 13 — Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
Thu. Dec. 14 — Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
Sat. Dec. 16 — Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel *

& = w/ Mount Mariah
# = w/ Arcade Fire
$ = w/ Strong Words
% w/ Ned Oldham
^ = w/ Heron Oblivion
* = w/ White Magic

ShareShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someoneShare on StumbleUpon

Related Posts

Leave A Response

Example Skins

dark_red dark_navi dark_brown light_red light_navi light_brown

Primary Color

Link Color

Background Color

Background Patterns

pattern-1 pattern-2 pattern-3 pattern-4 pattern-5 pattern-6

Main text color