St. Vincent Shares Reliably Schizoid New Track, Details of New LP

St. Vincent

Reliably fascinating art-rock weirdo Annie Clark has a new LP ready for 2014. The self-titled set, her fourth overall, is out February 24 in the UK and February 25 in the U.S. via Loma Vista. The album follows 2011’s Strange Mercy and last year’s Love This Giant, a collaboration with David Byrne.

In a press release, Clark describes the LP’s overall feel with this odd nugget: “I wanted to make a party record you could play at a funeral.”

Whether or not you’ll want to play this album at your great-uncle’s wake is yet to be determined. But in the meantime, you can get your awkward, robotic, artsy white-person groove on to “Birth in Reverse,” an elastic slice of paranoid funk-guitar crunch, caffeinated percussion, and growling synthesizers. Oh, and it includes the lyric: “Oh what an ordinary day / Take out the garbage, masturbate.” (Probably best not to do those two things at the same time.)

“I knew the groove needed to be paramount,” Clark says of the John Congleton-produced St. Vincent, which features contributions from Dap-Kings drummer Homer Steinweiss and Midlake percussionist McKenzie Smith of Midlake.

(Side note: Her new Bride of Frankenstein hairdo kinda freaks me out.)

Check out the tracklist below. You can stream “Birth in Reverse” — or if you feel like dishing out your e-mail, you can even download it with the handy widget.

1. Rattlesnake
2. Birth In Reverse
3. Prince Johnny
4. Huey Newton
5. Digital Witness
6. I Prefer Your Love
7. Regret
8. Bring Me Your Loves
9. Psychopath
10. Every Tear Disappears
11. Severed Crossed Fingers

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Posts

New to Glide

Keep up-to-date with Glide